Home Remodeling Certifications

Home Remodeling, Interior Design and Architectural Certifications

National Association of the Remodeling Industry (NARI) Certifications

You can trust a professional remodeling contractor with National Association of the Remodeling Industry (NARI) certification to have access to the latest industry information via conventions, educational programs, meetings, trade publications and shows that feature up-to-the-minute products, materials and techniques. Only serious professionals with a real desire to excel in the industry are eligible to participate in NARI’s rigorous certification program, which teaches and tests skill sets, safety issues, and ethical business practices.

Be assured that all NARI MN certified professionals have:

  • Five continuous years in the remodeling industry
  • Demonstrated adherence in personal practice to NARI’s Code of Ethics
  • Satisfactorily completed a comprehensive written examination testing remodeling firm operation procedures
  • Complied with all requests for documentation of experience and competence
  • Displayed the knowledge and ability required to perform the remodeling functions of the applicable certification class

Certified Remodeler (CR)

NARI Certified Remodelers (CRs) are professional remodelers who provide a full range of remodeling services. To become a CR, candidates must possess skill and knowledge in a broad range of business management and technical skill areas. To qualify for the CR designation, applicants must meet all of the following:

  • Be employed by or own a firm that derives at least 90% of its sales volume through remodeling work
  • Adhere to NARI’s Standards of Practice and Code of Ethics
  • Have a minimum of five years continuous experience in the remodeling industry
    Completed 16 hours of continuing education
  • Successfully completed a comprehensive application that details their background and experience
  • Successfully complete a one-day written examination addressing 20 knowledge areas related to general remodeling practices and business
  • Submit all required application materials and fees

Certified Aging-In-Place Specialist (CAPS)

The NAHB Certified Aging-in-Place Specialist (CAPS) designation program teaches the technical, business management, and customer service skills essential to competing in the fastest growing segment of the residential remodeling industry: home modifications for the aging-in-place.

Certified Remodeling Project Manager (CRPM)

NARI Certified Remodeling Project Managers (CRPMs) are the field personnel who oversee every aspect of the project: customer satisfaction, personnel management, administration, etc. while working on the project or projects. To qualify for the CRPM designation, applicants must meet the following:

  • Be employed by or own a firm primarily engaged in remodeling that operates in compliance with the NARI Code of Ethics and Standards of Practice
  • Complete at least 16 hours of continuing education directly related to developing project management skills and knowledge
  • Successfully complete a comprehensive application that details their background and experience
  • Meet one of the following three requirements:
    1. Five (5) years continuous experience in the remodeling industry (any role) AND Three (3) years as a remodeling project manager
    2. Four (4) years continuous experience in the remodeling industry (any role) AND Three (3) years of experience as a remodeling project manager AND Four (4) or more year degree in Construction, Project Management, Business Management, or a construction related field
    3. Three (3) years of continuous experience in remodeling (any role) AND One (1) year of experience as a remodeling project manager AND Achieved either the Certified Associate in Project Management (CAPM®) or Project Management Professional (PMP®) credential through the Project Management Institute (PMI)
  • Receive NARI’s approval of the application
  • Successfully complete a written examination (in one sitting) that covers the six CRPM knowledge domains: project planning, communications, project cost management, quality assurance, record keeping, and risk management

U.S. Green Building Council (USGBC) Certifications


The LEED professional credential is set forth and accredited by the U.S. Green Building Council. The credential shows that a licensed architect is a leader in the field, and an active participant in the green building movement who contributes expertise to the design, construction, operations and maintenance of buildings and neighborhoods that save energy, use fewer resources, reduce pollution and contribute to healthier environments for their occupants and the community.

The additional AP designation (LEED AP) affirms an architect’s advanced knowledge in green building as well as expertise in a particular LEED rating system. All LEED AP with specialty credential holders are required to maintain their credential through continuing education.

American Society of Interior Designers (ASID) Membership

Professional Membership, ASID Appellation

An ASID Professional member carries the ASID appellation. This designation is acknowledged as a hallmark of the interior design profession, and is established through membership with the American Society of Interior Designers, a national organization committed to professionalism within interior design as established through education, knowledge sharing, advocacy, community building and outreach. Founded in 1975, ASID is the oldest, largest and leading professional organization for interior designers.

State of Minnesota Certified Interior Designer (CID) Accreditation

In the state of Minnesota, the term for a licensed Interior designer is “Certified Interior Designer.” Certified Interior Designers are licensed and regulated by the Minnesota board of Architecture, Engineering, Land Surveying, Landscape Architecture, Geoscience and Interior Design (AELSLAGID).

National Kitchen and Bath Association (NKBA) Certifications

Certified Kitchen Designer (CKD)

The certification requirements through the National Kitchen and Bath Association provide a guarantee of experience in the field, and dedication to educational requirements in the industry via coursework, conventions, educational programs and meetings. Designers certified by the NKBA have also submitted professional testimonials to speak for their professionalism, experience and work ethic.

Project Management Professional (PMP)® Certification

The Project Management Professional (PMP) credential is the most important industry-recognized certification for project managers. Globally recognized and demanded, the PMP demonstrates that you have the experience, education and competency to lead and direct projects. Eligibility requirements include:

  • A secondary degree (high school diploma, associate’s degree, or the global equivalent) with at least five years of project management experience, with 7,500 hours leading and directing projects and 35 hours of project management education; or
  • A four-year degree (bachelor’s degree or the global equivalent) and at least three years of project management experience, with 4,500 hours leading and directing projects and 35 hours of project management education.

Back to People